Return

Volver Return EmiliaRollanSome people are lucky enough to not feel the need to go further and they stay where they were born. And then you have the rest of us: the people that, I don’t know why, need to go out there because if we stay in just one place or do just one thing, we become something similar to stagnant water.

That need of flowing is not about running away nor forgeting who you are. It’s something more subtle, more connected with curiosity than anything else. If there is only one life, how to miss the opportunity to see everything there is to see? I must confess I have not traveled as much as I would have loved to, I have not lived in many places; sometimes, I spend more time traveling to my inner world than outside … but you know what? there are no rules laid down in this game and if I leave myself floating, I don’t know where the morning tide would end up taking me tomorrow. So here I am… plain and naked, learning to float rather than to swim, either for or against the current.

This does not mean that, to this point, I have not memorized some lessons. For example, until now I’ve learned that life means choose and deal with the consequences of those choices… even if you do not feel comfortable with the result. And that outcome might well be that you could end up feeling you don’t belong anywhere. Is that worth it? Why not? The good part is that your home may be “where you lie your hat”. But after all, for the trip to makes sense, you always need a place to return to.

Long time ago, when I was in school the teacher read a poem in class and later he asked us think up what it meant. That day I felt enlightened. For the first time I realized it was not so unusual wishing both leaving and staying at home. Since then, Kavafis’ Ulysses and the searching of his Ithaca have accompanied me all these years and so they will for the rest of my life just because those lines are already mine. “Ithaca has given you the beautiful voyage / Without her you would have never set out on the road / She has nothing more to give you”.

So, at the departing time, when leaving my hometown, it pains me alike to leave and to stay because of the things I’ll miss if I go and for what I’ll loose if I don´t. The tower is my Ithaca. I think of her very often. And as soon as I get to the city, I look for her between the buildings and narrow streets. At her shadow I feel at home because despite all the changes that may be, is always there. Patiently waiting for my return.

La Giralda de Sevilla EmiliaRollan

Hay quien tiene la suerte de no sentir la necesidad de ir más lejos y se queda donde nació. Y luego estamos el resto: gente, que no sé por qué, necesita marcharse porque si se quedan en un solo sitio o hace una sola cosa, se convierten en algo parecido al agua estancada.

Esa necesidad de fluir no tiene que ver con huir ni con olvidar quien eres. Es algo más sutil, más conectado con la curiosidad que con otra cosa. Si solo hay una vida, ¿como desaprovechar la oportunidad de ver todo lo que hay que ver? Debo confesar que no he viajado tando como me hubiese gustado, que no he vivido en muchos sitios. A veces paso más tiempo explorando por dentro que por fuera… pero, ¿sabes qué? No hay reglas establecidas en este juego y si me dejo llevar no sé dónde terminará por llevarme la marea mañana. Así que aquí estoy, tal cual, aprendiendo a flotar más que a nadar, ya sea a favor o contra la corriente.

Esto no significa que, llegados a este punto, no haya memorizado ya algunas lecciones. Por ejemplo, hasta ahora he aprendido que la vida significa elegir y lidiar con las consecuencias de esas elecciones… incluso cuando no te guste el resultado. Y que ese resultado muy bien podría ser que termines sintiendo que no perteneces a ningún sitio. ¿Merece eso la pena? ¿Por qué no? La parte buena es que tu hogar estará donde estés tú. Pero depués de todo, para que el viaje tenga sentido, siempre hace falta un sitio al que volver.

Hace mucho tiempo, cuando iba al instituto, un profesor leyó un poema en clase y luego nos pidió que pensásemos en lo que significaba. Ese día me sentí iluminada. Por primera vez me di cuenta de que no era tan raro desear al mismo tiempo marcharse y quedarse en casa.

Desde entonces el “Ulises” de Kavafis y su búsqueda de Ítaca me han acompañado todos estos años y lo harán durante el resto de mi vida, porque sus versos ya son míos.

“No hagas con prisas tu camino; mejor será que dure muchos años, y que llegues, ya viejo, a la pequeña isla, rico de cuanto habrás ganado en el camino. No has de esperar que Ítaca te enriquezca: Ítaca te ha concedido ya un hermoso viaje. Sin ella, jamás habrías partido; mas no tiene otra cosa que ofrecerte. Y si la encuentras pobre, Ítaca no te ha engañado. Y siendo ya tan viejo, con tanta experiencia, sin duda sabrás ya qué significan las Ítacas”.

Así que, cada vez que llega el momento de dejar mi ciudad, me duele tanto marcharme como quedarme, por las cosas que echo de menos si me voy y por las que me pierdo si me quedo.

Con el tiempo la torre se ha convertido en mi Ítaca. Pienso en ella muy a menudo. Y tan pronto como llego a la ciudad la busco entre los edificios y las calles estrechas. A su sombra me siento en casa porque a pesar de todos los cambios que pueda haber, siempre está ahí. Pacientemente espera mi vuelta.

Responder

